my shortcomings, his example

it’s been a month. a month since i promised to be patient, kind and encouraging. a month since i told him i would put him first, above myself, not insisting on my own rights or ways but rather his, and always looking to find the very best in him, at all times. i promised to never forget these promises but it seems that in this past month i have.  i have let my patience wear thin, my kind words turn to harsh words and have insisted on my own rights and ways rather than his. i have allowed myself to turn into the selfish person i vowed to never be. and while i may feel that i come up short more often than not he never fails to be patient, kind and encouraging toward me. he never fails to put me first, above himself, not insisting on his own rights or ways but rather mine. he never fails to always find the good in me, even when i can’t find it in myself. and he never fails to demonstrate Jesus to me in all that he does. and in doing so he leads me by example, to be the woman i vowed to him to be, the woman he deserves to have. his silent example of loving kindness, gentle patience and unending encouragement pushes me more than any demand he could place on me or command he could state. and because of his silent example, he compels me to be the patient, kind, encouraging, and selfless wife i promised him to be.

chris, i can’t begin to put into words how incredibly grateful i am to have you in my life. you are more than i could ever hope or dream for and for that i thank God everyday. you are my exceedingly abundantly more.

Now to Him who is able to do exceedingly abundantly above all that we ask or think…

Ephesians 3:20

Leave a Reply

